PCB made major changes regarding Pakistan Cricket Team

PCB made major changes regarding Pakistan Cricket Team

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has finally made the call on who will captain the side in the 50-over format. Star batsman, Babar Azam, has been appointed as the ODI skipper alongside his usual role of T20I captain.

The Pakistan Cricket Board also confirmed Azhar Ali as Test captain and teenage fast-bowling sensation Naseem Shah has been included in Pakistan’s 18-member national contract list for 2020/21

Along with Naseem, the other new face included in the list, which comes into effect from 1 July, is right-handed batsman Iftikhar Ahmed. Shaheen Shah Afridi, a terrific fast-bowling talent, has been promoted to the ‘A’ category. The other three players to receive promotions are Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood – all moving up to Category B.

This was announced in the new central contracts, which had a few surprise omissions and demotions. Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, and Hasan Ali no longer get deals, whereas Sarfaraz Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, and Yasir Shah have been demoted one category.

Image Source: PCB

The role of ODI captaincy was vacant after PCB decided to remove Sarfaraz in 2019 due to his poor performance as a batsman. Explaining the reason behind the decision, head coach and chief selector, Misbah-ul-Haq said:

“We have kept in mind who can serve us in the long run. We have kept the 2023 World Cup in mind while picking Babar as the ODI captain. He is the captain of the T20 side, he is a top-class performer, and this is the right time to groom him.”

Furthermore, and as part of its commitment and strategy to reward high-performing young cricketers, the PCB has also created a new Emerging Players’ Category, which includes Haider Ali and fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain.

Tags : cricketodipakistanPCBTest MatchTwenty20

Leave a Response